Skip to content ↓
Southfields Primary School

Southfields Primary School


Phonics is the correspondance between spoken sound (phoneme)  and the written letter (grapheme).  In our school we use Nuffield pictures, Southfields actions rhymes and stories to support children learning their phonics.  In addition to this we use the Letters and Sounds Government recommendation which is alternative phonics.  We use a range of teaching and learning experience when teaching phonics to ensure a multi sensory approach.  As a leading school on speaking and language we pride ourselves on the high standards and outstanding progress of pupils in our school in reading and phonics.

Further  information about 'Letters and Sounds'

Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007. It aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven.
There are six overlapping phases. The table below is a summary based on the Letters and Sounds guidance for Practitioners and Teachers. For more detailed information, visit the Letters and Sounds website.


Phonic Knowledge and Skills

Phase One

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds,
instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice
sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two
Reception) up to 6 weeks

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each.
Blending sounds together to make words.
Segmenting words into their separate sounds.
Beginning to read simple captions.

Phase Three
(Reception) up to 12 weeks

The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each.
Graphemes such as ch, oo, the representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters.
Reading captions, sentences and questions.
On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.

Phase Four
(Reception) 4 to 6 weeks

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase.
Children learn to blend and segment longer words with adjacent consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.

Phase Five
(Throughout Year 1)

Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.

Phase Six
(Throughout Year 2 and beyond)

Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.

Please see the EYFS booklet for information and support on Phase 2,3,4,5 which lists all of the phases with all

of the details of each phase in detail with practice sheets to work on at home.

  • Healthy Schools
  • Ofsted Outstanding 2011|2012
  • Ofsted Outstanding 2008|2009
  • Logo
  • Leeds Inclusion Chartermark
  • Arts Council England
  • Financial Management Standard in Schools